top of page
Search
  • Absolute Fitness Performance

Recognizing Your Opportunities

Have you ever caught yourself saying “I HAVE to” do this today? Or, this is a busy week for me, “I HAVE to” find time for my long run or accomplish these items for work?


Most of us have this thought pattern when thinking about our task lists, whether it’s related to sports, school or work.


You’re Normal!


It is so common to think this way! Many organize their daily to-do list with items that need to be accomplished so they get the satisfaction of crossing it off the list! Boy, does that feel good!


It is crazy to think that while we are trying to be so productive a simple statement can turn our tasks into daunting chores that can cause us to feel drained, unmotivated and anxious. “I HAVE to” might also make some feel that they don’t have the resources available to be successful and can make us feel nervous about how we are going to accomplish these items.



Impact on Performance


When relating this mentality into the performance setting it can impact an athlete’s ability to fully engage in their practice and competition.


Saying “I HAVE to” go to practice, “I HAVE to” get my lifting done or “I HAVE to” eat healthy may make an athlete feel as if they are striving to achieve something instead of integrating it positively into their own training program.



Shift Your Thoughts


Try shifting your thoughts from “I HAVE to” to “I GET to”.

“I GET to” connects to feelings of excitement and opportunity. It also reminds you that YOU

are still in control!

  • “I GET to go to practice.”

  • “I GET to go to rehab.”

  • “I GET to train today.”



Challenge Yourself


When you find yourself listing all things you HAVE to do....pause, reflect and switch to reminding yourself that you GET to do these things! You’re creating a vision for yourself regarding chances and opportunities that you are fortunate to receive!


Yours in health,

JoAnne


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page